Sip Water

Sidebar – Sip water refers to a phrase used by a spinning class instructor when encouraging us to take a quick rest. Gym Bunny and I found it amusing at the time and it soon became an all the time hashtag for visits to the gym.

What a rude awakening I got 2 months ago! It seems that in my attempt to maintain my commitment to the gym by having no game plan besides going 3 times a week, I’m back to the original weight I was when Gym and I first got together!

It’s my own fault, I suppose; well, me and the daily chocolate and my arrogance thinking that it would not catch up with me! I know myself to be a commitmentphobe and thought the only way I’d stick  to gym was if no plan was in place. Like the successful abandonment of the forbidden fruit, I had to change my mindset.

Mr Elephant always said  that training by yourself produces the best results and he saw no point in attending classes even if it was on a regular basis. He suggested that it is important to burn more than you eat and stay as hydrated as possible before training. I decided to try his methods. Mr Elephant has also said that people are horrible overall so I’m the first to admit that he is not the preacher of this gospel.

Training on your own

I’ve managed to get my hands on a few 30 day challenges. Butt and leg came first and required me to exercise 4 days a week. I’ve enjoyed this alot. I like the flexibility. I can go to gym any day of the week at any time of the day. I don’t have to worry about missing a class! Training on my own has helped me not to compare myself with other people and to fully rely on myself to get through a session – it’s really all in the mind. There was no granny next to me mimicking the same moves that I could compare myself to. I could not use the other people in the class who stop to take a break as my own cop out to rest. It was just me and that squat or lunge or plank or all of them!

I also like not having to be in sync with someone else’s schedule which is just as well because gym bunny one has moved to another gym and gym bunny two has moved to another city. I’m in full control of my own workout and my own improvement.

Keep hydrated

By the time I get to the gym in the afternoon, I ( on a good day) will have consumed about seven glasses of water. The bright side is that it keeps me cool during  hot days. The not so bright side is that I pee all the time which, all teachers know, is not on our list of  daily priorities. Also, I sweat like you can’t believe during my workout, even when I’m just doing wieghts. You have to take the good in with the bad, though, so I won’t complain about that.

Burn more than you eat

This, I have not yet mastered, but it’s a work in progress. Because I drink so much water, I have very little time for fizzy drinks on top of that. I’ve even changed my poison of choice to whiskey and soda. I eat cous cous instead of rice or mielie meal and I eat all kinds of meat. The best part though has been the double cream plain yoghurt! I have died and gone to heaven! This stuff is the best thing I have ever put in my belly! Keep it coming!

Well there you have it! That’s what I’ve been trying. The results are slow but I am in no hurry. I’ve come to believe that  enjoying what you do is more important than pushing or worrying about the results. They will come as long as you are consistant in your training and your diet. I don’t always follow these steps with precision and I’m sure there is still much more that I can do for even better results, but I commend myself for the bravery to change up what I’d already been doing and to work at being as good as I can be.

Leave a Reply

