Adorn

20160407_104630.jpg

So as an affirmation exercise to boost self esteem and my view of myself, I have a list of adjectives pasted at the top left hand corner of my mirror. Every morning before I get ready for the day, I look at my reflection and I say these adjectives out loud.

Number one on my list is that I am beautiful and when I start getting dressed, I’m more motivated to put more effort into my appearance.

Today, one of my colleagues pulled me aside and proceeded to tell me how beautiful I look today. She emphasised how different it is from how I normally look. The compliments kept coming and not from her alone!

So here’s my theory: when you make a statement about yourself, you start acting it out. Once you act it out, others see it in you.

There you have it: I am beautiful because I say so…

Leave a Reply

