You Pt 2 ( Ankle-Deep)

I am only ankle-deep ( but really, waist deep). I’ve disregarded the waters creeping to my toes (but really they have reached my ankles), immersing my feet ( but really crawling up my calves) and taking a firm grip on my ankles ( but really, my thighs are emmersed).

I dare not let you see past my scruffy walls. I dare not let the waters up my legs ( oh, honey, they are far past your legs) I dare not let myself go and allow the waters to take me where they wish. I dare not! I am only ankle-deep! I can control ankle-deep! Ankle-deep won’t drown me! Ankle deep is safe and I can still escape unscathed -I think.

Leave a Reply

