5 Things I Do When I’m Bored

Am I the only one who sits at home with the entire day ahead of me and realise that I am bored out of my mind? What do you normally do when you feel unproductive and unmotivated to do anything about it? Well, because Google has the answer to everything, I found these helpful tips for what one can do when one is bored. The site offers 96 activities but I cut them down to ones that apply to my life. Today I’m going to share just 5 things I do when I am bored.

Clear Your Inbox

I am not the kind of person who leaves any messages unread on any platform. It drives me insane! Maybe I am a communication fanatic; I’d rather lash out on a person than blue tick them or ignore them. I’m learning that this is not always a good way to deal with situations, though, but I digress. When I am bored, I visit my emails and I open them. Most of the emails I receive are blog alerts, online shopping advertisements and devotional readings. Sometimes I spend boredom time unsubscribing to sites I don’t find necessary anymore and opening and reading the rest. I find it so satisfying when my gmail says, “whoohoo! you’ve read all your messages!” It’s also the perfect time to clear your gallery. I bet you have thousands of photos on your phone, hundreds of which are unnecessary for some reason. We do take 10 selfies and only post one, after all.

Self-care

Empty time is the perfect time to take care of yourself. Paint your nails, put on a face mask, take a nice long candlelit bath with bath oils, try a new hairstyle or simply take a nap. Sometimes we get so busy with all our responsibilities that we forget these simple pleasures.

Scribble

I find lists very soothing. They make me feel like I’m on top of things and when you are adulting, you need all the help you can get! I’m a sucker for lists, so I sometimes do my shopping list or make a to do list for the following day at work. I also take boredom time to plan, and sometimes write a few blog posts ahead of the time.

Learn a New Language

I recently started learning Portuguese. I downloaded the app and every day, I get a 5 minute lesson where I read, speak and write it. Whatever I learn that day, I use to start a conversation with the people I know who are Portuguese speaking. It’s been a great deal of fun!

Chores

This may sound like a no brainer, but it needs to be included! Boredom time is the perfect time to do some cleaning: do the dishes, laundry, sometimes I even rearrange a shelf. These activities are therapeutic for me. They do say that cleaning and sorting out your physical house helps you feel like your metaphorical house is under control. It’s a good coping mechanism for depression.

Don’t get it twisted. Sometimes I throw my list out the window and veg in front of the tv watching Greys Anatomy season 6 for the thousandth time while my bed is unmade and my inbox is filling up and I know I am wasting all that precious time. It happens sometimes! Allow yourself those moments, but have more productive days than unproductive.

Well, I hope that was helpful! These 5 a bare scraping the top of the iceberg! I didn’t even mention watching TV ( something I haven’t already seen) and reading so there are plenty more things to do when one is bored. Tell me what you do when you are bored, I’d love to hear from you! Thank you so much for popping in! It’s always a pleasure to have you here! Have an awesome week😘

Published by Noloyiso

English Teacher by day, Lifestyle Blogger by night. Join me every Wednesday and Sunday for my activities and interests in this thing called life!

PiBlog.Net

Learn How To Make $1000/Month At Home

Malusi Madonsela

Lifestyle • Healing • Growth

Girl With Problems

Poetic & True to Self

MALIFEZSWIT BLOG

My head is noisy, I write to silence it.

Discover WordPress

A daily selection of the best content published on WordPress, collected for you by humans who love to read.

deputyruminations

From the desk of Kevin Leathem

kojobampoe.wordpress.com/

Ghanaian born, South African based male model.

Life...Take 2!

I hope that someone sees this page and decides not to give up.

Thick’N’Stylish

The Style Artist

Just Fire Fits

Fashion for You

Life with Charli

Even just a little inspiration goes a long way.

Chef Lesego's Blog

Taking the snobbery out of food. From a Chefs point of view

Lwazi

Better than before, better for me

Beneath The Tip of My Pen

Grace-full💜🌙

Poems by Nana Obeng-Koranteng

Thoughts meet Emotions

Lifesfinewhine

The Life & Ramblings Of A Zillennial